First Published 1972 by Collins

Collins dustwrapper.  Click to enlarge (File Size=27KB)
Collins wrapper
not illustrated

19th in the Lone Pine series. Set on Dartmoor.
The story opens with a shocking accident in Shropshire. The scene then moves to Dartmoor, to Kings Holt, now owned by Penny Warrender's father. She and Jon don't really feature in the story; it is left to the others to resolve the mystery which rapidly comes into focus when they gather at the house for a holiday.
On the way to the station, the Mortons witness a vicious crime and are glad to reach the peace of the countryside. However, Dartmoor is not very peaceful, thanks to the twins !

First edition: blue boards, gold blocking on spine, including cone logo, plain front boards; map after contents page; no illustrations; 158pp.

Reprinted 1976: blue boards and d/w; cp 2.95.

Other Editions:
Armada 1978:
Paperback edition; map; no illustrations; 160pp; cp 50p; Armada number C1474.
Armada cover. Click to enlarge (File size=25KB)
Armada edition

Girls Gone By 2005:
Click to enlarge
Girls Gone By
paperback edition
Paperback; 190x130mm (c7.5x4.5 inches); full colour cover, front as first edition, rear has summary of plot and illus of spine of first; illustrator not credited; 180pp in total.

In addition to the text and map as the original are the following: a half page preface by Robin Saville, 3pp intro by Mark O'Hanlon and 5pp article by Mary Cadogan with photographs; list of Lone Pine titles and at rear a 'complete' bibliography listing books published under his own name. In addition, information about the publishers and a page advert for Mark's Saville books complete the book.
ISBN: 1-904417-61-2; cover price £9.99 (including postage and packing within UK)

(N.B. This edition is now out of print. - but see below)
Click to enlarge
Rear cover of book

Girls Gone By 2017:

New paperback edition. A reprint of the 2005 edition but with the inclusion of the Saviile short story The Flower Show Hat.
This latter, short story, has two unique illustrations by Bertram Prance.
As the earlier GGBP edition it includes Mark O'Hanlon's introduction and Robin Saville's preface as well as Mary Cadogan's article Malcolm Saville: Writer and Friend.
Unique to this second edition are a note from the publishers and detailed, illustrated, publishing Histories for both Where's My Girl and The Flower Show Hat provided by me.
Its ISBN 978-1-84745-220-7; its cover price is £13 direct from the publisher.

Click to enlarge
second impression cover

This page is part of the Malcolm Saville Centenary Website. To enter this site by the front door, click here.
Illustrations copyright the respective Publishers
Text copyright John Allsup
created April 2001
Last updated 9th April 2017