First Published 1955 by Hodder & Stoughton

Illustrated by Joan Kiddell Monroe
first edition wrapper. Click to enlarge (File size=36KB)
first edition dustwrapper
The fourth, and final, book in the Nettleford series.

The Owlers leave Nettleford far behind and move to North Yorkshire for a holiday. Far up Swaledale they discover abandoned lead mines, Crackpot Hall and the cave in Swinithwaite Ghyll. They also encounter new friends, and new enemies.

An unusual setting for this series, but Saville describes the dale with his usual easy flair, capturing the mood of the place. I regularly have a coffee in the cafe in Richmond the Owlers find, but I'm still looking for the second-hand book shop !

First edition: green boards, black lettering on spine only; 145x195mm; 190pp; 2 diferent endpaper maps in green (not credited); frontispiece and seven full page b/w illustrations.
Dustwrapper full colour picture wrapping to spine of youngsters in cave; list of other Nettleford novels on back; photograph of author on rear flap; cp 8s 6d.

2nd impression 1956.

Other Editions:

Serial in the The Children's Newspaper 1955:
This appeared before the book's publication.
An abridged serialisation in this up-market weekly 'comic'. It was published in 21 episodes from the issue dated 14th of May, finishing in the issue dated 24th of September.
Some episodes, but not all, carried a small black and white illustration, unfortunately not credited.

Children's Book Club c1956?:
Blue boards, black lettering on spine; 200x140mm; 190pp; no date; map endpapers; frontispiece and seven other b/w illustrations; d/w picture as first edition.
CBC wrapper. Click to enlarge
Children's Book Club edition
courtesy of Mike McGarry

Armada cover. Click to enlarge (File size=29KB)
Armada cover
Armada 1972:
C509; cp 20p; no map; no illustrations; 158pp; cover not credited; advert at rear for 'They Rode to Victory' coming April 1972.

This page is part of the Malcolm Saville Centenary Website. To enter this site by the front door, click here.
Illustrations copyright the respective Publishers
Text copyright John Allsup
Last updated July 2015