an Introduction

Malcolm Saville was one of the most popular Children's authors of his time, and his time was a long one.
His first children's book was published in 1943, his last in 1981 and between these dates he published over one hundred titles.

He wrote well and with a genuine care for the readers and a love of the countryside and of life in general which comes through in his fiction, and is shown in the range of his non-fiction books.

He is best remembered for the long 'Lone Pine' series of adventures, the first of which, 'Mystery at Witchend', opened his career.
However, he wrote no less than seven other series of books and more than thirty non-fiction titles.

Seven of the stories were serialised by the BBC for the Children's Hour Radio programme, and two film scripts were shot by the Children's Film Foundation and later released in book form. These broadcasts and films of his work all happened early in his writing career, bringing his stories to a large audience.

Many of the adventures he wrote were set in real locations. Saville loved exploring new places and this enthusiasm for the areas he visits is expressed in his writing. He explains in many of the books which places are real, and actively encourages his readers to explore them. His beloved Shropshire was the setting for several of the books, but he also set stories in and around Rye, in London, Dartmoor, Yorkshire, Cambridgeshire, East Anglia and up the Grand Union Canal.
In others the place was not as specific: a midland manufacturing town is the home of the Susan and Bill series, a small market town like Guildford, though I prefer Harpenden, is Nettleford. But even in these cases the place is real of its kind, and the cafes, corner shops and railway stations are real ones, in a real town, somewhere.

One of the remarkable things about his books was that many of them bore an invitation to write to him at home, or at the publishers, and a promise that he would write back.
I wonder if he ever regretted that, for he did reply at least once to every reader. Considering that he sold over a million books, and many, many children wrote to him; he must have spent as much time writing letters as books.
As a result of the fans' interest a Lone Pine Club was created and ran for some years.

Although the other series and indeed all the non-fiction titles were not as popular as these books, they were all good books. Saville did not short-change the readers. There were books for a wide range of ages and interests and each one was well crafted and balanced for the reader.
The books are listed alongside in two ways. Firstly in alphabetical order of title, ignoring the article 'A' or 'The' at the beginning; secondly, by choosing to change the list they will be presented in a categorical list.
In this, the books are listed in each series in the order that they were published. The Fiction section is followed the Non-Fiction grouped in areas of interest.

Several of the foreign editions of his titles are listed in the Foreign Titles page.

Information on the different series can be found on the page so named, and similarly I have added a list of publishers with their Saville titles to which I shall add information from time to time.

I have based all the information in the site on my notes made from books I've found and from information I've dug up from various other sources over the past ten years or so.
There was a 'full' bibliography produced by members of the Malcolm Saville Society some years ago. This was a joint venture between a group who had, between them, virtually all the books he'd written, and in nearly all the editions. I have checked information with this from time to time, to avoid misleading a 'reader', but I haven't added any new information from that document into this site.
Guy Hawley has added significantly to the information in that file, and written the comprehensive bibliographical notes for all the Lone Pine series and many other Saville books in the Society's journal Acksherley!. Whilst checking my facts with these excellent accounts, I haven't 'pinched' any information from them, so they remain the definitive reference works.
Currently (2006) there is an exercise to produce a new 'fuller' bibliography of his work. This is being researched by a couple of Society members and taps into the collections of other members. This will be available to Society members on completion. This latter will be the main reference source of information and should be used for serious guidance.
The real advantage with this site from the bibliographical sense is the facility to show colour illustrations, and to encourage those outside the Society to join up !

Happy reading !

This page is part of the Malcolm Saville Centenary Website. To enter this site by the front door, click here.

Illustrations copyright the respective Publishers
Text copyright John Allsup
created updated April 2001
last updated March 2006