Edited by Eric Leyland

First Published 1963 by George G Harrap & Co Ltd

1st edn cover. Click to enlarge)
first edition cover
Illustrated by photographs

A school book which introduces ten popular children's authors. It is a 'book exhibition' or Writer's Visit in book form. There is an extract from one of the author's works, and a piece about the author. There is also information on how to contact the author, and a promise of a reply.
The final section of the book is a section of projects based on the extracts, designed to improve the student's written english.

The ten authors are:
Anthony Buckeridge, Jack Cox, Richmal Crompton, Winifred Finlay, Garry Hogg, W. E. Johns, Eric Leyland, John Pudney, Malcolm Saville and Noel Streatfeild.

First edition: Hardback book, possibly without d/w; rectangular patterned boards with authors' signatures; 144pp; b/w portraits at the beginning of each author's section.

This page is part of the Malcolm Saville Centenary Website. To enter this site by the front door, click here.
Illustrations copyright the respective Publishers
Text copyright John Allsup
Created May 2001
last updated May 2002