E H Shepard


Best known for his Winnie the Pooh and The Wind in the Willows illustrations, Shepard illustrated the first six of the Susan and Bill series that Malcolm saville wrote for Nelson.
For each book there were six black and white pen sketches and a full colour frontispiece, in addition to the full colour dustwrapper.
These are:
Susan, Bill and the Wolf Dog
Susan, Bill and the Ivy Clad Oak
Susan, Bill and the Vanishing Boy
Susan, Bill and the Golden Clock
Susan, Bill and the 'Saucy Kate'
Susan, Bill and the Dark Stranger
The final two of the series were illustrated by T R Freeman.

This page is part of the Malcolm Saville Centenary Website. To enter this site by the front door, click here.
Illustrations copyright the respective Publishers
Text copyright John Allsup
Created August 2002
last updated Aug 2002